Tuesday, October 16, 2007

South Australia Wine Growing Region


The key wine growing regions of SA are:1. Barossa Valley2. Adelaide Hills3. Riverland4. McLaren Vale5. Langhorne Creek6. Clare Valley7. Coonawarra8. PadthawayBarossa ValleyIn 1842 immigrants from England, Germany and Poland established one of Australia's best-known and historic wine regions, the Barossa Valley.

The main red varieties now grown are Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon and Grenache and the key white grape varieties are Riesling, Semillon and Chardonnay.Shiraz abounds in the Barossa, and is probably the wine for which the region is most famous. Riesling is the other classic Barossa variety.

The style is quintessentially Australian - quite unlike the European Riesling. The region also produces excellent quality Grenache, Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay.

Jacob’s Creek flows through the Barossa Valley. The Barossa's first commercial vineyard was located on the banks of Jacob’s Creek, this site is located between the townships of Rowland Flat and Tanunda.

No comments: